What insurance is Uber required to provide under California law?
Under California Law, Uber is required to provide drivers with $1,000,000 in primary insurance. In addition to that, they are required to have an additional $1,000,000 uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. However, these coverages only kick in when the driver has accepted a ride or is transporting a passenger. If the Uber driver is not working or their app is off, their own personal insurance policy will cover any damages.